Are You Wearing the Right Clothes?

Standard

One morning recently I was getting dressed to go out.  The temperature outside was in the 30’s and the wind was blowing from the northeast.  I put on my long johns, piled on layers of clothes, and put my wind-resistant coat on over everything.  I was going to work on a friend’s boat and hopefully get to fish in the Rappahannock River for a while.  As I was dressing, I was thinking of Ephesians 6:13-17.  Of course, that is talking about spiritual armor.  I wore insulated boots to keep my feet warm.  My mid-section was protected.  I was wearing a turtleneck shirt and one of those stretchy stocking hats which I don’t like to wear.  They keep sliding up.

But now I had a dilemma:  What to wear on my hands?  I couldn’t wear gloves and do the work on the boat.  I have recently lost a screw that fell down to the floor and disappeared, and I wasn’t wearing gloves for that job.  I was reminded of verse 18 that says “pray always”.  Even in the physical world, we can’t win our battles without God’s help.

God has given me the opportunity to witness and help my friend, and He will keep my hands warm because I’m doing what Jesus did when He was on Earth.  To God be the glory!  I want you to know that my hands did get cold, but I was able to fix the problem with the boat.  When we started to catch some catfish, my hands warmed up quickly; and I brought supper home for our cats!

Leave a Reply

