A Real Fish Story

Standard

This is a real fishing story that happened last Friday.  That morning I was fishing on the Mattaponi River.  Everybody was catching shad.  The shad run is great this year!  I and others have caught large Whites and Hickories.  But this morning, God had something special for me.

There was a young osprey that came to visit us.  It landed in the tree and watched us fish.  The man next to me, Justin, had a shad on the line; and it was splashing on top of the water.  The osprey dove down from its perch toward the shad.  I thought that the osprey was going to carry the fish off along with Justin’s line.  The osprey missed, and the shad got off.  The bird flapped its wings and hovered looking for that fish.

Then another man on the boat pier had a shad splashing on his line.  The osprey dove at the fish.  I ran over to see.  The osprey was sitting in the water as if it was tired.  The man got his fish in.  It was a hickory.  He took it off the line and laid it on the bank.  The osprey flew up out of the water and landed on the fish.  It just stood there on it.  All this action was taking place really close to all us fishermen.  Many of the men who had fancy phones recorded it.  The osprey picked at the fish head a couple of times then dug its talons into the shad, flew up into the air, and flew off upstream.

I hope to see that osprey again and get to watch it grow.  That sure was a special blessing for me that day!  Fish responsibly and enjoy nature!  One of these years, I think I’m going to write about all my fishing adventures.  I could fill a book.  It all started when I was eight years old.

Leave a Reply

