Put All Your Faith in Jesus

Standard

 

The first murder that affected me was when President Kennedy was shot.  I wasn’t there when it happened.  In fact, I was in school and school closed for the rest of the day.  As I was walking home, I saw people crying.  I was only eight years old.

Since then, I’ve heard about many other murders.  None of them were close to me and I was getting callous toward hearing about them.  Then I heard about a murder of a child who wasn’t the target.  It awakened my senses.  Now I have heard about a lot of murders in my lifetime; and, yes, it is nothing new.  You hear about them all over the world.  And I’m sure I don’t hear about all of them.  Children in school, people in church.  You or I could easily be a victim.  Is there any comfort?  Is there an end to this type of violence?

Several years ago when I performed a funeral, I used the verse:  “Then I heard a voice from heaven saying to me, ‘Write:  Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on.’       ‘Yes,’ says the Spirit, ‘that they may rest from their labors and their works follow them.’”  Revelation 14:13

This comes after the three messages that we are continually to present and verse 12 talks about patience.

Yes, even little children teach us things about life, complete trust, being teachable, etc.  I’m sure you could say something that your own children have taught you.  They are spared in seeing the evils that are ahead; and when it is all over and Jesus returns in the clouds, the way He went up, they will be awakened.  The Bible says it will be loud, with trumpets and a loud voice.  It will not be secret.

There is a home prepared for all who have accepted Jesus.  But what is scary is that the religious leaders like in Jesus’ day, “Having the form of godliness but denying its power.  And from such people turn away.”  2 Timothy 3:5

Read John 16:33 and put all your faith in Jesus!

Leave a Reply

