Writer’s Block?  Take a Break

Standard

Sometimes you don’t know what to write about.  The only writing that I have done lately is this blog.  I guess it keeps my mind on the writing process.

I’m retired, but I haven’t had time to write in my fourth book, By Design.  It’s stuck in the editing phase.  This is Brenda’s story in my Dan Stanley series.  The first three books are Homeless, No Address, and Mastermind.

I have to force myself to get away.  I need to take time out to go and do some research for this book.  People are disappointed that I can’t help them during this time, but you do need to take time away and slow down occasionally.  Jesus Himself said in Mark 6:31, “Come aside by yourselves to a deserted place and rest awhile.”  It goes on to say, “For there were many coming and going and they did not even have time to eat.”  (My wife can testify about me not eating.  She has been trying to fatten me up!)  To guard against the fast past danger, Jesus invites us to “Come apart and rest awhile,” to regain spiritual strength even when we are working for God.  I’m looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

