The Writing Process

Standard

 

My wife told me that she lost over half an hour of her day yesterday talking on the phone with someone about my third book.  He liked the book but didn’t understand the ending.  You need to remember the second book, No Address, in order to understand the ending in Mastermind.  Nevertheless, he thought the book was great.  He has traveled in Central America and South America, and he really liked the way we handled the Darien Gap.  He did suggest some changes we should make to correct some things that were inaccurate.  My books are fiction.  Some things in the books are true, but they were all dreams.  Some of the dreams didn’t make sense, as dreams often don’t; but I thought that they were better storylines than what you see on television.

People ask me, “How did you get started writing?”  I have written small things in the past.  But when I had the first dream, I woke up at 2 am and wrote the dream down by hand.  When I next looked at the clock, it was 6:30 am.

Our life is based around church and our daughter.  When our daughter went out on her own, my wife and I discussed, “What are we going to do with ourselves together, just the two of us?”  The answer was these books.  I type out the notes from my dreams, and she edits them.  She makes my dreams make sense.  We are both amazed at how the stories flow.  She has edited books for other authors in the past, but neither of us thought that I had these books in me.  I call them a blessing from God and an answer to our prayer for something that we could do together.

The first book, Homeless, is not the usual homeless story.  It has been very popular with people who remember Richmond from the 1960’s.  No Address is a continuation of the first book.  My wife didn’t like this book because it is science fiction, but she cries whenever she reads the ending.  It deals with space life on a small planet between Earth and Venus, as it was in my dream.  The first two books are written in the first person, from Dan’s point of view.  They have a simpler language than MastermindMastermind is a prequel to the first two books, but it is written on a higher level from a different character’s perspective.

We are currently working on By Design, the ending of the series.  Other projects have been keeping us busy, and the writing has taken a backseat.  People have been asking, “When is the next book coming out?”  That motivates us to get back to it.  I am also working on another book in my spare time.  It’s a western, The Legend of Tater; and takes place in Montana.  I have never been there, only in my dreams!

 

 

Leave a Reply

