Shopping and the Cost of Living

Standard

I don’t like to shop.  Every time I go to a store, I can’t get everything that I want.  They don’t have it.  The last time I went to Green Top, they had the plastic but not the strong slider hooks.  So I didn’t buy anything.

Today I went with my wife to the grocery store because fishing was canceled.  Did you know that toilet paper costs seven dollars?  And that was the sale price.  I couldn’t believe it.  There is no way that a package of twelve rolls of toilet paper should cost seven dollars!  I used to work for James River Paper Company (one of their products was toilet paper).  My wife says that she can’t send me to the store because I would come back with nothing.

Something is terribly wrong with our economy.  I guess I have lived too long.  That brings me to another subject:  health insurance and hospital costs.  At my age, it is cheaper to die than go into a hospital.  I’m not afraid to die.  It happens all the time.  And to die in Christ, there is no better comfort.  When Jesus returns, a better life is promised.  Maybe we won’t need any toilet paper!

 

Leave a Reply

