Beware of False Advertising

Standard

Last week I drove to Okeechobee, Florida, to bass fish in Lake Okeechobee.  We trailered the boat all the way down to stay in a place that my friend found on the internet.  He prepaid the reservation that was a nonrefundable fee and down we went to Big Lake Lodge and RV.  The pictures look good, but the place is a dump.  There was no room for the trailer and the truck to even get into the place.  It was located on a small canal.  We soon found out that you couldn’t even get into Lake Okeechobee from there.  The lady running the place didn’t want any “whiney bass fishermen” there, so she gave my friend’s money back.  We thought about going to Clewiston, but it was another hour or so away.  We were so disappointed with what we saw, we decided to return home.

There are plenty of rivers and lakes here in Virginia, and I don’t plan to ever trailer a boat that far again!  We both had received signs that we shouldn’t go, but the money was nonrefundable.  At least he got his money back!  We thought we would have a good experience, but all we got was a lesson in false advertising on the internet.  We went to Florida on Monday and came back on Wednesday.  I didn’t do anything on Thursday.  Then on Friday when I got into the car to go out, my body said, “Nooo.”

The Bible says, “Be content with such thing you have,” Jesus will never leave us (Hebrews 13:5).  I’m going to be content with the waters in Virginia.  I plan to go shad fishing on March 17.  Wish me luck.  I don’t keep any fish.

Leave a Reply

