Fishing for Cats?

Standard

Early one morning last week while it was still cooler outside, I was in the backyard practicing casting a fishing lure.  I want to be able to place it better.  Then all of a sudden, a cat came running out from under my truck to grab the lure.  I jerked, thinking it would be nice if the fish would come charging like that after the lure.  The lure flew up behind me, and a different cat came out of the woods to grab it.  They must have been watching me the entire time.  I yanked again, but the cat got tangled up in the fishing line and ran back into the woods.  I let the drag out then cut the line so I wouldn’t hook the cat.

I went to get my gloves and pruning shears.  I wanted to help the cat, but I didn’t want to get all clawed up.  These are wild cats that don’t let you get too close.  Well, the cat somehow untangled itself!  After I cut down some briers, I saw the lure lying on the ground.  I was glad to get the lure back, but there was no sign of the cat.  I was doubly blessed.  The cat wasn’t hurt, and my lure wasn’t lost!  I’ll do my fishing in the water from now on.

Leave a comment